Contemporary

The "Contemporary" category promotes the music of our time and offers exciting musical adventures. For we love new sounds and are setting standards for the interpretation of contemporary music with the Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (LFCO) and the Lucerne Festival Academy.

© Priska Ketterer

Lucerne Festival Academy

Master school and laboratory for the future rolled into one: the Lucerne Festival Academy was established in 2003 by Pierre Boulez and Festival Director Michael Haefliger and has been led by Wolfgang Rihm since 2016. The Academy provides highly talented young musicians from all corners of the globe with the tools they need to interpret the music of the 20th and 21st centuries.

More

Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra

Lucerne Festival is passionately dedicated to the music of our time and sets interpretive standards with the new Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (LFCO).

More
© Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival
© Peter Fischli/Lucerne Festival

Lucerne Festival Forward

A new festival for the music of our time, developed and presented by the excellent musicians of the Lucerne Festival Contemporary Network.

composer-in-residence

Every year, one or two composers-in-residence make their mark on the Summer Festival and introduce themselves through a showcase of their work. In recent years, these have included Michel van der Aa, Unsuk Chin, Chaya Czernowin, Fritz Hauser, Thomas Kessler, Tod Machover, Olga Neuwirth, Johannes Maria Staud, Jürg Wyttenbach, and Rebecca Saunders. In 2022, the  British artist Thomas Adès will present both recent and newly written works.

© Marco Borggreve
© Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival

World premieres 2022

New works of young talented composers of Lucerne Festival's "Composer Seminar 2022", Thomas Adès, Tyshawn Sorey and Bettina Skrzypczak.

Contemporary

Die Sparte «Contemporary» fördert das Musikschaffen unserer Zeit und sorgt für aufregende Hörabenteuer. Denn wir lieben neue Klänge – und setzen mit dem Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (LFCO) und der Lucerne Festival Academy Massstäbe für die Interpretation der zeitgenössischen Musik.

© Priska Ketterer

Lucerne Festival Academy

Meisterschule und Zukunftslaboratorium in einem: Die Lucerne Festival Academy, die 2003 von Pierre Boulez und Festivalintendant Michael Haefliger initiiert wurde und seit 2016 unter der Leitung von Wolfgang Rihm steht, vermittelt hochbegabten Nachwuchstalenten aller Erdteile das Rüstzeug für die Interpretation der Musik des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts.

Mehr lesen

Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra

Leidenschaftlich widmet sich Lucerne Festival der Musik unserer Zeit – und setzt mit dem neuen Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (LFCO) interpretatorische Massstäbe.

Mehr
© Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival
© Peter Fischli/Lucerne Festival

Lucerne Festival Forward

Ein neues Festival für die Musik unserer Zeit, entwickelt und präsentiert von den exzellenten Musiker*innen des Netzwerks Lucerne Festival Contemporary.

composer-in-residence

Alljährlich prägen ein oder zwei composers-in-residence das Sommer-Festival und präsentieren sich mit einer Werkschau. In den letzten Jahren zählten dazu Michel van der Aa, Unsuk Chin, Chaya Czernowin, Fritz Hauser, Thomas Kessler, Tod Machover, Olga Neuwirth, Johannes Maria Staud, Jürg Wyttenbach und Rebecca Saunders. 2022 stellt sich der Brite Thomas Adès mit jungen und jüngsten Arbeiten vor.

© Marco Borggreve
© Priska Ketterer/Lucerne Festival

Uraufführungen 2022

Neue Werke von jungen ausgewählten Komponist*innen aus dem "Composer Seminar 2022", Thomas Adès, Tyshawn Sorey und Bettina Skrzypczak.