The Alumni

They are young, versatile, and eager to experiment and they are influencing the music world of today and tomorrow: since 2003 more than 1,200 musicians from over 60 countries have taken part in the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ACADEMY, among them such current stars as the Spanish conductor Pablo Heras-Casado and the American JACK Quartet. And a majority of them remain closely associated with the Festival.

Selected former Academy students regularly return to Lucerne as LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI and enrich the Festival with performances not only in the regular concert programs but also in the Young Performance and 40min series. Above all they keep in contact with each other – through the support of LUCERNE FESTIVAL's alumni platform – so as to develop and implement projects of their own together all around the world. In this way a unique international network of young musicians has been created, which – through the help of LUCERNE FESTIVAL – outsiders can also approach. LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI show the ongoing impact of the Festival's support of the new generation, particularly as former participants in the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ACADEMY offer help and advice to current Academy students.

For their inaugural project, in the 2013-14 season, the Alumni presented four world premieres in New York, London, Beijing, Zurich, and Lucerne, all of which illustrated the theme “Music at Risk." In 2016 they made a guest appearance as part of the NY Phil Biennial, performing the three-part concert series “Ligeti Forward,” which was led by Alan Gilbert at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York. In 2017 they toured Switzerland and Germany with the Swiss jazz singer Andreas Schaerer and his band Hildegard Lernt Fliegen, together presenting the project “The Big Wig.” They additionally perform several concerts every year in a variety of formats as part of the Summer Festival in Lucerne.

In January 2018, the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI will present two concerts in New York focusing on music of Frank Zappa and also taking a look at composers who were his models as well as those inspired by him. In March 2018 they will join the Ensemble intercontemporain to preform in Paris, Brussels, and Luxemburg, as well as at the Easter Festival in Lucerne. These programs will be devoted to Messiaen's Des canyons aux étoiles.

Swiss Re – Partner LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI

    Program

    Thu, 25.01. | 20.00 | Roulette Intermedium, Brooklyn/New York

    The Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI in New York

    Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI | Matthias Pintscher | soloists

    Fri, 26.01. | 20.00 | Roulette Intermedium, Brooklyn/New York

    The Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI in New York

    Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI | Matthias Pintscher

    Fri, 16.03. | 20.30 | Philharmonie de Paris

    The Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI in Paris

    Ensemble intercontemporain | Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI | Matthias Pintscher | soloists

    Sun, 18.03. | 17.00 | Palais des Beaux-Arts Brussels

    The Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI in Brussels

    Ensemble intercontemporain | Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI | Matthias Pintscher | soloists

    Wed, 21.03. | 19.00 | Philharmonie Luxembourg

    The Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI in Luxemburg

    Ensemble intercontemporain | Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI | Matthias Pintscher | soloists

    Fri, 23.03. | 19.30 | KKL Luzern, Concert Hall

    Symphony Concert 4

    Ensemble intercontemporain | Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI | Matthias Pintscher | soloists

    Mon, 20.08. | 19.30 | KKL Luzern, Concert Hall

    Symphony Concert 4 – "räsonanz” Donor Concert

    Chamber Orchestra of Europe | LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI | Heinz Holliger | soloists

    Sat, 25.08. | 22.00 | KKL Luzern, Concert Hall

    Modern 3

    we spoke percussion | Musicians of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI and LUCERNE FESTIVAL ACADEMY et al.

    Sat, 01.09. | 15.00 | KKL Luzern, Lucerne Hall

    Modern 4

    Ensemble of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI | Wolfgang Rihm

Les Alumni

Ils sont jeunes, polyvalents, expérimentent volontiers et vont imprimer de leur marque le monde de la musique de demain. Plus de mille musiciens ont participé à la LUCERNE FESTIVAL ACADEMY depuis 2003, parmi eux certains sont devenus des stars comme Pablo Heras-Casado et le Quatuor JACK (États-Unis). Et une bonne partie d’entre eux gardent des liens avec le festival.

D’anciens stagiaires de l’Académie reviennent régulièrement se produire à Lucerne sous l’appellation de LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI. Ils enrichissent non seulement le programme principal du festival, mais aussi les séries Young Performance et 40min. Mais surtout, ils gardent le contact entre eux grâce à la plate-forme que le festival met à leur disposition et qui leur permet de créer ensemble des projets et de les mener à bien. Ainsi est né un réseau international de jeunes musiciens unique en son genre, auquel des personnes extérieures ont accès par l’intermédiaire du festival. Avec les LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI, le festival apporte un soutien durable à la jeune génération, d’autant plus que les anciens participants de l’Académie font bénéficier de leurs conseils les nouveaux stagiaires.

En 2013/2014, les Alumni présentent leur premier projet intitulé Music at Risk : quatre nouvelles œuvres qu’ils donnent en création mondiale à New York, Londres, Pékin, Zurich et Lucerne. En 2016, au Metropolitan Museum de New York, un groupe d’Alumni dirigé par Alan Gilbert propose une série de trois concerts baptisée Ligeti Forward dans le cadre de la Biennale du Philharmonique de New York. En 2017, les Alumni partent en tournée en Allemagne et en Suisse avec The Big Wig, un programme où ils ont pour partenaires le chanteur de jazz suisse Andreas Schaerer et son groupe Hildegard Lernt Fliegen.

En janvier 2018, les Alumni donnent à New York deux concerts autour de Frank Zappa avec au programme de la musique de Zappa, des œuvres de compositeurs qui l’ont influencé et d’autres de musiciens qui ont trouvé chez lui une source d’inspiration. En mars 2018, ils interprètent avec l’Ensemble intercontemporain Des canyons aux étoiles de Messiaen à Paris, Bruxelles, Luxembourg et au festival de Pâques de Lucerne.

En dehors de ces projets particuliers, on peut entendre les Alumni chaque été dans divers programmes, en petite ou en grande formation, au Festival de Lucerne.

Swiss Re – partenaire des LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI