Since 1993 Credit Suisse has engaged in an ongoing and fruitful partnership with Lucerne Festival. As a Main Sponsor, Credit Suisse makes it possible for the Vienna Philharmonic to perform symphony concerts each year during the Summer Festival in Lucerne and since 2021 has facilitated the "Lakeside Symphony" live broadcasts from the Inseli park next to the Lucerne Culture and Convention Center. In addition, the Credit Suisse Foundation supports highly gifted young artists through two awards which are granted annually on an alternating basis.

The internationally renowned "Credit Suisse Young Artist Award" supports outstanding soloists who show the potential to develop a major international career. Along with a cash award in the amount of CHF 75,000, the winners are given an opportunity to appear in concert with the Vienna Philharmonic during the Summer Festival in Lucerne. This award is given jointly by Lucerne Festival, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Vienna Society of Friends of Music, and the Credit Suisse Foundation. To date the following artists have received this distinction:

  • Winners "Credit Suisse Young Artist Award"

    Valentine Michaud saxophone (2020)

    Kian Soltani cello (2018)

    Simone Rubino percussion (2016)

    Sergey Khachatryan violin (2014)

    Vilde Frang violin (2012)

    Nicolas Altstaedt cello (2010)

    Antoine Tamestit viola (2008)

    Martin Helmchen piano (2006)

    Sol Gabetta cello (2004)

    Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin (2002)

    Quirine Viersen cello (2000)

The "Prix Credit Suisse Jeunes Solistes" is an award that singles out talented young Swiss musicians and presents an award in the amount of CHF 25,000. The winners are additionally given an opportunity to perform in the Debut series of the Summer Festival in Lucerne. This distinction is awarded jointly by Lucerne Festival, the KMHS Conference of Swiss Academies of Music, and the Credit Suisse Foundation. Among the winners to date are:

  • Winners "Prix Credit Suisse Jeunes Solistes"

    Atenea Quartet (2023) 
    Jaum Andreu Angelès Fité, violin | Gil Sisquella Oncins, violin | Bernat Santacana Hervada, viola | Iago Domínguez Eiras, cello

    Lea Sobbe recorder (2021)

    Marianna Bednarska percussion (2019)

    Valentine Michaud saxophone (2017)

    Vojin Kocić guitar (2015)

    Laura Schmid recorder and Pablo Hernández-Barragán clarinet (both 2013)

    Mi Zhou cello (2011)

    Andriy Dragan piano (2009)

    Aniela Frey flute (2007)

    Tecchler Trio piano trio (2005)

    Pawel Mazurkiewicz piano (2003)

    Sol Gabetta cello (2001)

Nurturing emerging talent is a primary concern for Credit Suisse. Because art takes time to grow, to flourish, to be fully experienced.