Chamber music 2

Women of the Berlin Philharmonic

Liebmann | Farrenc | Mendelssohn-Hensel | Bonis

Sat, 16403

Kirchensaal MaiHof

Vergangenes Konzert

Please book a wheelchair ticket under t +41 (0) 41 226 44 80 (10 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

Summer Festival

12.08.-11.09. 2016



    Women of the Berlin Philharmonic:  Jelka Weber, flute | Marlene Ito, violin | Julia Gartemann, viola | Anne Yumino Weber, cello | Cordelia Höfer, piano
    Helene Liebmann (1796–1835)
    Grand Sonata for piano and cello in B-flat major, Op. 11
    Louise Farrenc (1804–1875)
    Trio for flute, cello, and piano in E minor, Op. 45
    Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel (1805–1847)
    Piano Quartet in A-flat major
    Mel Bonis (1858–1937)
    Suite dans le style ancien, Op. 127, no. 1, for flute,
    violin, viola, and piano
    Not until the Berlin Philharmonic was 100 years old, in 1982, was a woman allowed to play in its ranks for the first time: the Swiss violinist Madeleine Carruzzo. By now this elite orchestra includes 16 female members, yet that amounts to a total of only 12.5% of the entire ensemble. The women need to stick together! And so an ensemble of women from the Berlin Philharmonic has teamed up with Cordelia Höfer, the pianist of the orchestra’s own “Philharmonic Salons” to perform works by three women composers. There will be two Romantics: Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel, who was born in 1805, and Louise Farrenc, her senior by one year. Mélanie Hélène Bonis was meanwhile a contemporary and classmate of Claude Debussy who intentionally published her scores using the gender-neutral alias first name “Mel,” since she feared not being taken seriously as a woman composer. The women of the Berlin Philharmonic prove her fears to be mistaken.