Debut 1

Haochen Zhang

Boulez | Debussy | Janáček | Liszt

Wed, 18508


Buy tickets

Prices (CHF)

CHF 30

Please book a wheelchair ticket under t +41 (0) 41 226 44 80 (10 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

Piano Festival

17.11.-25.11. 2018



    Pierre Boulez (1925–2016)
    Piano Sonata No.1
    Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
    Bruyères from Preludes, Book II
    General Lavine – eccentric from Preludes, Book II
    La terrasse des audiences du clair du lune from Preludes, Book II
    Feux d’artifice from Preludes, Book II
    Leoš Janáček (1854–1928)
    In the Mists
    Franz Liszt (1811–1886)
    Piano Sonata in B minor, S 178

    An unusual confession for a young pianist: “I feel irresistibly drawn to music of a reflective and introspective nature,” explains Chinese Haochen Zhang, frankly acknowledging that this affinity has something to do with his inward-looking personality. When asked about his idols, no wonder that he mentions sensitive poets of the piano like Radu Lupu, Murray Perahia, and Alfred Cortot. Yet precisely because he keeps his distance from keyboard thunder and rattling virtuosity, he has developed a remarkable career: Zhang took first prize and the gold medal in the Van Cliburn Competition in 2009, when he was only 19 years old, and received the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant Award in 2017. In the United States, where he studied with Gary Graffman, he has performed with the Philadelphia Orchestra, the San Francisco Symphony, and the Los Angeles Philharmonic, and he has appeared in Europe with the London Symphony Orchestra, the Munich Philharmonic, and the Israel Philharmonic. This success story continues with his Lucerne debut.

    Haochen Zhang

    Other dates