Late Night 4

Dirk Rothbrust | Christian Dierstein | Marco Blaauw et al.


Sat, 05.09. | 22.00 | No. 20810

KKL Luzern, Lucerne Hall

Tickets as from Mon, 23 March 2020 | 12.00 (UTC + 1)

Please book a wheelchair ticket under t +41 (0) 41 226 44 80 (10 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

Summer Festival

14.08.-13.09. 2020




    Late Night 4

    Dirk Rothbrust | Christian Dierstein | Marco Blaauw et al.

    Dirk Rothbrust  percussion
    Christian Dierstein  percussion
    Marco Blaauw  trumpet
    Soloists from the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI  
    Rebecca Saunders (*1967)
    dust for percussion
    (world premiere of the new version for percussion ensemble)
    Neither for six double-bell trumpets
    (world premiere of the new version)

    Dirk Rothbrust

    Born in 1968 in Illingen, Germany, Dirk Rothbrust ranks among the most renowned international percussionists. From 1986 to 1994, he studied in Saarbrücken and Karlsruhe with Franz Lang and Isao Nakamura. He has been a member of the Cologne Percussion Quartet since 1995 and of the Ensemble Musikfabrik since 2005, and from 2001 to 2008 he played with the Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin. Whether with an ensemble or as a soloist, Rothbrust concertizes at all the important contemporary music festivals in Europe and collaborates with the leading composers and performers of our time, including Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Martha Argerich, and Maurizio Pollini; the saxophonist Peter Brötzmann; and the electronic duo Mouse on Mars. As a soloist, Rothbrust has given the world premieres of such works as void by Rebecca Saunders, Beat Furrer’s Xenos III, and Wolfgang Mitterer’s Rasch, all of which – like many other works – were written specifically for him.

    July 2018

    Other dates