The Orchestra

Lucerne Festival is passionately dedicated to the music of our time and sets interpretive standards with the new Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (LFCO).

The Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (LFCO for short) sees itself as an orchestra of excellence for the performance of new and contemporary music. It forms a counterpart to the Lucerne Festival Orchestra, focusing on 20th- and 21st- century scores, from modern classics to newly commissioned works that receive their world premieres in Lucerne.

All members of the LFCO have benefited from their training at the Lucerne Festival Academy, which was launched by Pierre Boulez and is now directed by Wolfgang Rihm. Thanks to its close ties to the Academy and its network, the LFCO is able to play a trailblazing role in the interpretation of contemporary music and in the development of forward-looking concert formats. Through its projects, the LFCO harnesses the potential of new technologies; interdisciplinary works gives rise to innovative listening and concert experiences. All of this is done always with a clear vision: making contemporary music happen.

The Forward Festival program emerges from the Academy Network. At the Lucerne Festival Forward, musicians from the LFCO perform in a wide variety of formations: from solo, chamber music ensemble to large orchestra.

Das Orchester

Leidenschaftlich widmet sich Lucerne Festival der Musik unserer Zeit – und setzt mit dem neuen Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (LFCO) interpretatorische Massstäbe.

Das Lucerne Festival Contemporary Orchestra (kurz: LFCO) versteht sich als Exzellenzorchester für die Aufführung neuer und neuester Musik. Es bildet das Pendant zum Lucerne Festival Orchestra und fokussiert sich auf Partituren des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts, von den Klassikern der Moderne bis hin zu Auftragswerken, die in Luzern uraufgeführt werden.

Alle Mitglieder des LFCO haben von der Ausbildung in der von Pierre Boulez initiierten und heute von Wolfgang Rihm geleiteten Lucerne Festival Academy profitiert. Dank der engen Anbindung an die Academy und ihr Netzwerk ist das LFCO in der Lage, eine Vorreiterrolle in der Interpretation aktueller Musik und in der Entwicklung zukunftsweisender Konzertformate einzunehmen. In seinen Projekten nutzt es die Möglichkeiten der neuen Technologien; interdisziplinäre Arbeiten lassen neuartige Hör- und Konzerterlebnisse entstehen. Dies alles immer mit einer klaren Vision: making contemporary music happen.

Das Programm des Forward Festival entsteht aus dem Academy-Netzwerk. Beim Lucerne Festival Forward treten Musiker*innen des LFCO in unterschiedlichsten Formationen auf: vom Solo, Kammerensemble bis hin zum grossen Orchester.