LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA

The name says it all: LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA was initiated by Festival Executive and Artistic Director Michael Haefliger and the Japanese concert agency Masahide Kajimoto in response to the catastrophic earthquake and tsunami suffered by Japan on 11 March 2011. As a “new ark," LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA was intended to make a contribution to cultural reconstruction in the regions of Japan that had been affected.
For this purpose the Japanese architect Arata Isozaki and the British artist Anish Kapoor developed an inflatable mobile concert hall. It serves not only as a platform for high-level artistic offerings but also as a vibrant and diverse venue for gatherings, bringing together international and local musicians, artists and audiences. LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA was inaugurated in the fall of 2013 in Matsushima; in 2014 it traveled to Sendai for its second season; and in 2015 the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA operated in Fukushima and additionally received the Classical:NEXT Innovation Award.

Architecture

It’s an eye-catcher: a work of architectural sculpture which blends harmoniously into the landscape and whose unusual shape attracts attention, seeming almost weightless on account of its light materials. LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA was designed as a formless shell that does not require a conventional supporting structure. The shell consists of an elastic, inflatable material that allows the hall to be easily disassembled, transported, and reconstructed in another location. For interior decoration, cedar wood from the Zuiganji Temple region was used in order to establish a connection to sites that are highly signifiant for Japanese spirituality and history. A freely floating, reflective acoustical balloon ensures optimal sound. The effect is impressive for visitors as they become immersed in an organic space whose soft, round shapes and color scheme illuminated by aubergine and pink convey a sense of protection and warmth. LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA’s flexible seating space can hold up to 500 persons.

LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA

Der Name ist Programm: LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA wurde von Festival-Intendant Michael Haefliger und dem japanischen Konzertagenten Masahide Kajimoto in Reaktion auf die japanische Erdbeben- und Tsunamikatastrophe vom 11. März 2011 lanciert. Als eine «neue Arche» soll LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA einen Beitrag zum kulturellen Wiederaufbau in den betroffenen Regionen leisten.
Zu diesem Zweck entwickelten der japanische Architekt Arata Isozaki und der britische Künstler Anish Kapoor eine aufblasbare mobile Konzerthalle. Sie dient nicht nur als Plattform für hochstehende künstlerische Darbietungen, sondern auch als lebendige, vielseitige Begegnungsstätte, die internationale und lokale Musiker, Künstler und Publikum zusammenbringt. LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA wurde erstmals im Herbst 2013 in Matsushima aufgestellt; 2014 gastierte sie in Sendai, im Jahr darauf in Fukushima. 2015 wurde LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA mit dem «Classical:NEXT Innovation Award» ausgezeichnet.

Architektur

Sie ist ein Hingucker: eine Bauskulptur, die sich harmonisch in die Landschaft einfügt, mit ihrer ungewöhnlichen Form aber doch Aufmerksamkeit erregt und dank der leichten Materialien fast schwerelos wirkt. LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA ist als strukturloser Hüllkörper konzipiert und kommt ohne konventionelle Tragkonstruktion aus. Die Hülle besteht aus einem elastischen, aufblasbaren Material, sodass sich die Halle leicht abbauen, transportieren und an einem anderen Ort neu errichten lässt. Für die Innenausstattung wiederum wurde Zedernholz aus dem Gebiet des Zuiganji-Tempels verwendet, um eine Verbindung zu dieser bedeutenden Stätte japanischer Spiritualität und Geschichte zu schaffen. Für einen optimalen Klang sorgt ein frei schwebender akustischer Reflexionsballon. Der Effekt für die Besucherinnen und Besucher ist beeindruckend: Sie tauchen in einen organischen Raum ein, der mit seinen runden, weichen Formen und der auberginefarbenen, pink beleuchteten Farbgebung Geborgenheit und Wärme vermittelt. LUCERNE FESTIVAL ARK NOVA bietet mit flexibler Bestuhlung Platz für bis zu 500 Personen.