Priska Ketterer/LUCERNE FESTIVAL

The Alumni

They are young, versatile, and eager to experiment. And they are influencing the music world of today and tomorrow. Since 2003, more than 1,200 instrumentalists, conductors, and composers from over 60 countries have taken part in the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ACADEMY. Among the alumni are such acclaimed artists as the JACK and Mivos Quartets and the conductors Pablo Heras-Casado and Kevin John Edusei, along with many musicians who are currently members of internationally established orchestras, who perform in the realms of chamber music and experimental projects, or who teach at conservatories. They remain closely associated with the Festival as LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI.

Selected former Academy students regularly return to Lucerne as LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI and enrich the Festival by giving performances in the realm of contemporary music, in the “40min” series, or as part of productions by LUCERNE FESTIVAL YOUNG, providing advice and assistance to current Academy students. Through the support of LUCERNE FESTIVAL’s alumni platform, they also keep in contact with each other so as to realize their own projects together all over the world. In this way, a unique international network of young musicians has been created that demonstrates the enduring effectiveness of the Festival’s promotion of the next generation of talent.

For the summer of 2019, we have invited 45 alumni to convene at Lake Lucerne, where new synergies will be emerging. For the first time, Riccardo Chailly, Music Director of the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ORCHESTRA, will conduct an orchestral concert given by the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI; the event will also feature principal players from the ranks of the Festival Orchestra: flutist Jacques Zoon and oboist Lucas Macías Navarro. The JACK Quartet will give the world premieres of works by Travis Laplante and Don Li, and the Mivos Quartet, together with slam poet Saul Williams and the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ACADEMY, will perform works by composer-in-residence Thomas Kessler.

For their inaugural project, which took place in the 2013-14 season, the LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI presented four world premieres in New York, London, Beijing, Zurich, and Lucerne, all of which illustrated the theme “Music at Risk." Other highlights of recent years include guest appearances as part of the NY Phil Biennial in the three-part concert series “Ligeti Forward,” which was led by Alan Gilbert in 2016; a tour through Switzerland and Germany in 2017 with the Swiss jazz singer Andreas Schaerer and his band Hildegard Lernt Fliegen, together presenting the project “The Big Wig”; and, in March 2018, a joint tour with the Ensemble intercontemporain to Paris, Brussels, and Luxembourg, as well as a performa ice of Messiaen’s Des canyons aux étoiles at the Easter Festival in Lucerne.

Swiss Re – Partner LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI

Priska Ketterer/LUCERNE FESTIVAL

Die Alumni

Sie sind jung, vielseitig, experimentierfreudig und beeinflussen die Musikwelt von heute und morgen. Seit 2003 haben mehr als 1.200 Instrumentalisten, Dirigenten und Komponisten aus über 60 Ländern an der LUCERNE FESTIVAL ACADEMY teilgenommen. Unter den Absolventen finden sich so renommierte Künstler wie das JACK und das Mivos Quartet oder die Dirigenten Pablo Heras-Casado und Kevin John Edusei, aber auch viele Musikerinnen und Musiker, die heute Mitglieder international arrivierter Orchester sind, im Bereich der Kammermusik und experimenteller Projekte auftreten oder an Hochschulen lehren. Als LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI bleiben sie den Festspielen eng verbunden.

Als LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI kehren ausgewählte ehemalige Akademisten regelmässig nach Luzern zurück, bereichern das Festival mit Auftritten im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Musik, in der Reihe «40min» oder in Produktionen von LUCERNE FESTIVAL YOUNG und stehen den aktuellen Academy-Studierenden mit Rat und Tat zur Seite. Unterstützt durch die Alumni-Plattform, bleiben sie zudem untereinander in Kontakt, um gemeinsam weltweit eigene Projekte zu realisieren. So ist ein einzigartiges internationales Netzwerk junger Musikerinnen und Musiker entstanden, das zeigt, wie nachhaltig die Nachwuchsförderung des Festivals ist.

Im Sommer 2019 haben wir gleich 45 Alumni an den Vierwaldstättersee eingeladen, und es entstehen neue Synergien. Erstmals wird Riccardo Chailly, der Chefdirigent des LUCERNE FESTIVAL ORCHESTRA, ein Orchesterkonzert der LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI leiten, die zudem auf Solisten aus den Reihen des Festspielorchesters treffen: auf den Flötisten Jacques Zoon und den Oboisten Lucas Macías Navarro. Das JACK Quartet präsentiert u. a. Uraufführungen von Travis Laplante und Don Li, und das Mivos Quartet bringt gemeinsam mit dem Slam-Poeten Saul Williams und der LUCERNE FESTIVAL ACADEMY Werke von «composer-in-residence» Thomas Kessler zur Aufführung.

Als erstes Projekt präsentierten die LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI 2013/14 unter dem Motto «Music at Risk» in New York, London, Peking, Zürich und Luzern vier Uraufführungen. Zu den Höhepunkten der vergangenen Jahre zählt u. a. die dreiteilige Konzertreihe Ligeti Forward, mit der die Alumni 2016 unter der Leitung von Alan Gilbert bei der «NY Phil Biennial» gastierten. 2017 tourten sie mit dem Schweizer Jazzsänger Andreas Schaerer, seiner Band Hildegard Lernt Fliegen und dem Projekt «The Big Wig» durch Deutschland und die Schweiz. Im März 2018 gastierten sie dann gemeinsam mit dem Ensemble intercontemporain in Paris, Brüssel und Luxemburg sowie beim Luzerner Oster-Festival und brachten Messiaens Des canyons aux étoiles zur Aufführung.

Swiss Re – Partner LUCERNE FESTIVAL ALUMNI