Brahms Cycle 5

Chamber Orchestra of Europe | Bernard Haitink | Leonidas Kavakos
Wed, 13 April 2011 | 19.30 | KKL Luzern, Concert Hall | 707
Bernard Haitink conducts the Chamber Orchestra of Europe  

Chamber Orchestra of Europe | Bernard Haitink conductor | Leonidas Kavakos violin

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major, Op. 77
Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

Brahms as a summer-like composer: Whoever thinks of his music as limited to autumnal, dark colors and sounds or elegiac melancholy will be astonished by what they encounter at this concert. For on this fifth evening of his Brahms cycle, Bernard Haitink will present two distinctly cheerful and light-hearted works: the Second Symphony, which Brahms himself described as “a delightful monster,” and the Violin Concerto, which he wrote during his summer holidays at the Wörthersee in Carinthia in 1877 and 1878. “There’s nothing but blue sky, gurgling brooks, sunshine, and cool, green shadows!” raved Brahms’s friend Theodor Billroth about the D major Symphony. Undertaking the formidable solo part in the Violin Concerto will be the multiple-award-winning Greek violinist Leonidas Kavakos, who has a surprising definition of virtuosity all his own. The word comes from “virtus,” or virtue, he points out, explaining that “in Plato’s sense, one must first become wise before one can attain virtue…”


 Buy Tickets
Tickets can only be purchased over the phone (+41 (41) 226 44 80) or at the box office. The box office opens one hour before the concert begins, except in the case of concerts with introductory talks, when it opens half an hour before the talk.

Please book a wheelchair ticket under t +41 (0) 41 226 44 80 (10 a.m. to 5 p.m.)

View All Events
LUCERNE FESTIVAL is a member of
Top Events of Switzerland